Search This Blog

Showing posts with label TCM. Show all posts
Showing posts with label TCM. Show all posts

Friday, May 29, 2009

The Cary Grant List

Has it really been over two months since my last post? Ouch. I really have no excuse other than that life happened, my apologies!

Last week I decided I wanted to watch more Cary Grant movies. Cary Grant is wonderful and I had watched His Girl Friday at the beginning of the month; I'm in the mood for more. So after scouring the internet and bugging my friends for recommendations, I have put together this following list. I actually got quite a few excellent recommendations but decided to cap the list at ten. Make it something manageable to get through!

I will always take more recommendations though! Feel free to leave them in the comments. And let me know any thoughts you have on these! Follow the links for info from IMDB.



The Cary Grant List

Arsenic and Old Lace (1944) dir. Frank Capra

Bringing Up Baby (1938) dir. Howard Hawks

Charade (1963) dir. Stanley Donen

Father Goose (1964) dir. Ralph Nelson

Holiday (1938) dir. George Cukor

I Was A Male War Bride (1949) dir. Howard Hawks

Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House (1948) dir. H.C. Potter

Operation Petticoat (1959) dir. Blake Edwards

Penny Serenade (1941) dir. George Stevens

Suspicion (1941) dir. Alfred Hitchcock

I would write more about Grant and these films but I think it would make more sense to do that AFTER I've watched them. Don't you think?

Monday, December 08, 2008

Thoughts: My Weekend in Film 12/9

Before I say anything about anything, can I mention that yesterday was completely ridiculous? Because it was. Completely. It was busy from (literally) the second I walked into the office. Maybe I'll go into the details later but it included everything from an incredibly stupid mistake by me (try booking a car in the wrong city) to having a bird shit on my head. No kidding. That was awesome.

Okay, enough of that.

The first thing I want to mention (or would this be the second? Whatever...) is that the film that was once called Kids In America (and is now apparently called Young Americans) seems to have finally gotten a release date. KIA was my first gig as an Office PA. We shot out in Phoenix back at the beginning of '07 and for a long time there's been no word on when the film would actually be released. Until now. Now, according to IMDB, Kids In America aka Young Americans will be coming out on January 30, 2009. Of course, this is IMDB and therefore not always 100% reliable. And these things are always subject to change. But it's exciting and maybe it's even a little bit true. I'm not sure I really want to give them money to let me in the theater to watch it, but I am curious. We'll see I suppose.

Onto the weekend.

Friday PM:

We wrapped a little on the late side and by the time I got home I barely felt like dinner, let alone going out anywhere. So J and I parked in front of the TV, grabbed some drinks, and wandered through the oh so interesting programming that occupies the Friday night schedule. Luckily IFC was there to rescue us from the other mediocre options we were presented with.

They were totally showing Reefer Madness.


J and I decided that this crazy guy is awesome.

J has more of a relationship with the flick than I do, having once owned it on VHS. The only time I've seen it has been streaming online (I once watched it over the course of two days during a particularly boring stretch at ANTM). The reefer madness never really entered my life until I was a little older.

Reefer Madness is a riot. It's "scare tactics" really only serve to glorify the use of Marijuana. Those "awful" parties the kids go to look like a blast to me. Dancing, drinking, making out with strangers... what's so bad about that??? I guess there is always the madness, murder, and mayhem that eventually ensues. Eh, whatever!

The transfer on IFC looked not horrible but man oh man did that sound bad. I guess Reefer Madness isn't the kind of fare Criterion is going to pick up and restore anytime soon. Can't say I blame them. It's entertaining, maybe even subversive, and definitely exploitative but yeah. It's Reefer Madness.

And being that it's in the public domain, it's available online for watchin'.

After Reefer Madness I actually attempted to give The Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake a chance. Um. Bad call. Not only is it awful (it's really awful) it's just plain, straight boring. After 40 minutes I just could not take anymore of Jessica Biel's stomach. I mean sure, it's a nice stomach, but come on.



And that guy who plays her fiance? So trashy! Why do movies and television always stick the absurdly hot girl with the really gross guy? It's so not fair. I mean, I know it's playing into a male fantasy, letting your regular Joe guys imagine for a second that they could ever have a chance with a girl like that (yeah right). But come on. NO FAIR. Chicks watch these movies too. If you're going to give Jessica's stomach that much screen time, at least give me a comparable set of male abs to stare at too.

TCM 2000 sucks.

*It's also bad beyond her stomach. It's just more of the same, slicked up Hollywood Horror. It has none of the grittiness or raw energy of the original. It looks horrible. It completely fails at building tension. And it's boring. I'm not really sure which offense is worse.

Saturday Afternoon:



After a lazy morning and moderately productive early afternoon, I finally got into my Friday Night Lights marathon. I watched the first four episodes of season 1 and I love it. It's so good! The show shot in what's very much so Peter Berg's style so it looks incredibly cinematic. Which is to say it looks good. Beyond the visuals though, what really makes the show great, is the story telling and the character treatment. The writing is just brilliant. These people come across as "real"; their relationships, the plot developments, the depiction of life in a small football town, it's all believable. I'm completely hooked.

I hear season 2 isn't as good but after what I've seen of season 1 I will watch all of it and be glad for it.

Sunday:

Another reason why I love TCM (Turner Classic Movies not Texas Chainsaw Massacre): all day Sunday they were doing a Disney movie marathon.

I started with:

Swiss Family Robinson



I adore Swiss Family Robinson. What kid wouldn't love that story of adventure? fighting Pirates, chasing off tigers, wrestling giant snakes, and living in the coolest tree house imaginable. No wonder they all decide to stay on the island. I wouldn't want to leave either!

Followed By:

20,000 Leagues Under The Sea



This movie was always one of my favorites as a kid. Personally, I think it shows my good taste. The stellar cast alone is reason to watch. Kirk Douglas, Petter Lorre, James Mason. Damn that's some casting. Sure the effects look a little cheesy now but I can still appreciate how groundbreaking they were for the time.

Kirk Douglas's little song routine is still one of my favorites ever. I'm not a huge fan of musical things, but I love that song.

Followed By

Old Yeller



Is it weird that I never saw this as a kid?

Followed By

The Parent Trap

Which I didn't actually watch because I had to go grocery shopping and eat and run to the airport to pick-up K.

Followed By

Pollyanna



It's been YEARS since I last saw Pollyanna. I still think the "Glad Game" is silly but I like the movie. I'd still really like to see the silent version starring Mary Pickford.

I'd also really like to see Happy-Go-Lucky. An apparently modern take on the story. It's been getting pretty good reviews and sounds fun.

***

Apologies for the brevity, but it's another busy day in the office. We wrap shooting today so probably needless to say, there's a lot going on. Moving all of the wrap gifts from the office to our cars not being the least of it. But yes, enough slacking for me. Back to work.

***

On the Slate:

I honestly don't really know. Haven't had time to think about it.

Monday, November 17, 2008

Thoughts: My Weekend in Film 11/17

I may not have made it to Quantum of Solace (boo!) but the weekend wasn't a complete waste. Now that my work schedule is falling into the realm of reasonable I feel like I'm actually catching up on everything life related. Including movie watching.

Friday PM:


I nixed my Quantum of Solace plans after I didn't finish work until around nine or so. I mean, I know that's obviously still early enough to catch a movie. I was just tired! Give me a break, okay?

I did manage to make it home for Pizza and Beer night though. We had a "Make your own pizza" night which was pretty rad. So fresh made pizza, seasonal beer, and a little Shakespeare in Love. Not too bad, I think.



Shakespeare in Love is one of those movies that I saw, I liked a lot, and then I kind of forgot about. Watching it again (for the first time in years) I can understand how that happened. With a screenplay by the fabulous Tom Stoppard I probably don't need to say that I love the writing. But I do! Otherwise, the film is well done, I enjoy it, but eh. It's not an earth shattering film experience. I might even go so far as to say it's a very safe movie. It's light and feel good and really, there's nothing wrong with that. I enjoy it. I'll probably enjoy it again the next time I watch five years from now. But it's not really something I need to own.

Saturday Afternoon:


I actually managed to wake up at a decent time and spent my day Saturday out and about. I rode my bike through the Marina, ran some errands, finally got my hair cut, hung out by the pool, had Pinkberry for only the second time ever, rode out to the beach for the sunset. Other than the smoke in the air giving me a headache, it was a great afternoon.

A quick note about the fires. It's crazy out here. The air is awful, as in it's actually full of ash. All of our thoughts are with the people being directly effected by these fires. It's pretty horrible. It's so bad that the news is actually reporting on it (rather than just sensationalizing it, as Wil Wheaton pointed out in his Twitter the other day).

After inhaling more smoke than was good for my head, I went home with a vague headache and the desire to just crash on the couch and watch something interesting on TV for a while. Luckily TCM was more than happy to oblige.



As part of their "Essentials" series they were showing Stanley Kubrick's 1957 film Path's of Glory. While I definitely consider myself a Kubrick fan, I have to admit that this particular film had managed to escape me. I'm glad I've finally scene it.

What struck me most about it, is Kubrick's use of the frame. The cinematography is fantastic and the contrast between the different locations is great. The close claustrophobia of battle, the open luxury of the commanders's quarters. Also, the mise-en-scene with the use of lines, the movement of soldiers in the foreground and background. This is the kind of movie I just want to watch over and over in order to really absorb everything that's happening visually.

Say what you will about Kubrick, be a fan or not, it's hard to deny that his reputation has been earned. Especially when you watch his early films.

Sunday PM:


I was supposed to go see the B-52's last night (roommate J scored some tickets) but my head was still killing me and leaving the house was the last thing I wanted to do. So instead I took a long shower, put on some comfy pajamas, and popped in Factory Girl.



I had added Factory Girl to my Netflix ages ago but finally just got around to watching it. I hadn't heard much about it from the critics but it came highly recommended from a friend. And given my slight obsession with all things New York City in the 60's, I was inclined to give it a go.

The verdict? It looks cool... It's the story of Edie Sedgwick, a sensational story on it's own, depicted in a shallow, disappointing manner. She's such a fabulous character, her story could have been told so much better! There really was no need to take the liberties that they took. Anyway, the movie isn't Horrible, it's just not great. What it does have going for it: Sienna Miller who looks great as Edie and, I never thought I would ever say this, Hayden Christiansen. Seriously, I think this is the only time I've ever liked the guy. While I know there have certainly been better Bob Dylans, Christiansen managed to really make it work for me (keep in mind that his character isn't really just Dylan, he's credited as "The Musician" and is supposedly a mix of several people Edie was involved with after her days at The Factory). Maybe it was the chemistry between him and Miller. Maybe his bad acting just really suits Dylan's personality. I don't know. Either way, the scenes with him and Miller were all my favorite.

And that was pretty much my weekend. The rest was dedicated to sleeping and being social and cleaning my room. I feel accomplished for once.

On The Slate:


Quantum of Solace. I promise this time!!!

JCVD - Maybe. Am I really admitting that I want to see this? HA!

Tropic Thunder and Wall-E both come out on DVD tomorrow and you can bet I'm going to be at the Best Buy tomorrow night buying them both. They were easily two of my favorite movies of the year so far and I want them!!! Plus I hear the DVD's are going to be really cool.

Beyond that, whatever I end up getting from Netflix. Right now I'm leaning towards 8 1/2 and Lust, Caution. But we'll see.

Saturday, August 02, 2008

Thoughts: TCM's Summer Under The Stars

I know I've been very quiet this last month but I had to break the radio silence for this. One of my favorite parts of television in the summer is TCM's Summer Under the Stars. Every day in August they will devote their programming to one star. There have been so many classic movies that I've been introduced to through TCM's summer over the past years, Robert Mitchum in Night of The Hunter, Bette Davis in The Letter, Anthony Perkins in Friendly Persuasion.

This year's summer began last night with Michael Caine and continues today with Charlie Chaplin. Gregory Peck is tomorrow and I may have to not leave my house.

Check out TCM's website for more info: Summer Under The Stars

Here's the full schedule:

Michael Caine Friday, August 1
Charlie Chaplin Saturday, August 2
Gregory Peck Sunday, August 3
Marie Dressler Monday, August 4
Claude Rains Tuesday, August 5
Anne Bancroft Wednesday, August 6
Greta Garbo Thursday, August 7
James Garner Friday, August 8
Fred MacMurray Saturday, August 9
Doris Day Sunday, August 10
Richard Widmark Monday, August 11
Kim Novak Tuesday, August 12
Peter Lorre Wednesday, August 13
Greer Garson Thursday, August 14
Rita Hayworth Friday, August 15
Fred Astaire Saturday, August 16
Gene Kelly Sunday, August 17
Jack Palance Monday, August 18
Barbara Stanwyck Tuesday, August 19
Edward G. Robinson Wednesday, August 20
Ava Gardner Thursday, August 21
Trevor Howard Friday, August 22
Laurel & Hardy Saturday, August 23
Henry Fonda Sunday, August 24
Ingrid Bergman Monday, August 25
Janet Leigh Tuesday, August 26
Tony Curtis Wednesday, August 27
Charlton Heston Thursday, August 28
Marlon Brando Friday, August 29
Katharine Hepburn Saturday, August 30
Spencer Tracy Sunday, August 31

***

As for myself, I've just had a lot of life stuff going on. I'll return to regular posting eventually. Until then, go see The Dark Knight. It's amazing.

About This Thing

This blog is about film and life in the wonderful world of LA. I'm a filmmaker just getting started; I'm navigating my way through the industry, trying to find work, and sometimes even managing to make a living.

I've worked across the country on projects big and small. Everything from an indie in PA shot during the dead of winter to one of the bigger reality shows involving Models and the things they do.

I also just love doing things*. I'm a writer, aspiring director, wannabe photographer and cook. I waste too much time on the internet and sometimes all I want to do is hang out with my dog.

Stick around and chances are you'll catch me writing about it all.

*I use the word "thing" a lot. An inappropriate amount. I can't help it. There are just so many different things to talk about. And I just kind of like it.